Comic-Con, Museums and Las Vegas; the Connecting Thread

2 Jul

Summer starts in the Pacific Northwest

Welcome to July!  Here in Portland, the weather has been doing it’s usual thing; raining.  Relief is around the corner though, with Summer “unofficially” beginning July 5th (ask any long-term resident the question, “When does summer start in the Pacific Northwest” and the reply will be, usually without fail, “July 5th”).  My summer will start the same day as everyone else here in Portland, but with a twist;  my vacation also starts on the 5th.  With that, here’s what I’ll be doing…

I have five segments to my vacation;  Los Angeles, San Diego, back to LA, Las Vegas, back to LA and then home (I don’t count coming home as a segment).  This has become sort of a yearly pilgrimage for me as I have friends living in all those cities and there’s tons to do in each place.

For example, in Los Angeles I’m going to check out LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art).  In particular, Levitated Mass, whose progress I’ve been following for over a year now, and Metropolis II.  Being a huge fan of the show Arrested Development, I’m going to check out Gallery 1988 and their show “There’s Always Money In The Banana Stand”.  That should be goofy fun.  And finally, the Annenberg Space for Photography and the only West Coast appearance of “Who Shot Rock & Roll”.  Those are on my list with more to come, I hope.

Then a train ride to San Diego for 5 days of insanity.  I’m talking Comic-Com.  Nerdvana.  125,000 people.  Hundreds of panel discussions.  Thousands of costumes.  Sensory overload guaranteed.  Not only that, but I’m also going to W00tstock on Thursday night, The Nerdist Podcast  on Friday night and then I’m watching The Walking Dead Escape on Saturday.  Oh, and maybe some sleep.  But just a little.

I then train back to LA, only to turn around for a road trip to Las Vegas.  In July.  I wanted summer, so what better place for that than Vegas.  I haven’t figured what all I’m going to do there just yet, but there’s always SOMETHING to see there.  Then back to LA to see Ray Davies perform and finally returning home to Portlandia.

I’ll be posting everything on Facebook and Twitter, so you should follow us.  Seriously.  Do it now.

Leave a Reply

